Prevent Restore 1.3
Just by emptying Recycle Bin the files and folders are not gone forever. Anyone can use special recovery software to restore any deleted items. Yes, this is true and its the way Windows works. Any deleted file still exists on your disk until overwritten with some other content, for example: some other file.
"Prevent Restore" Mission
The main purpose of the free "Prevent Restore" program is to make deleted files and folders unrecoverable. Its made like Wizard program and will be friendly for any computer user, even newbie. "Prevent Restore" will overwrite all free space on your hard disk(s) that can contain fragments of deleted files with the random data to avoid any possibility of recovery. It uses several security algorithms (DoD 5220.22, Guttman you can replace deleted data with random characters, digits, spaces e.t.c.). While writing "Prevent Restore" fills out information to the end of each cluster, leaving no chance to restore even just one word!
Because your hard disk free space can be over hundred Gigs, complete anti-recovery process can take a while. For example, up to one hour or even more on a large disk free space. Its normal. You can leave "Prevent Restore" and it will turn off computer when done. There is also built-in option to prevent computer from StandBy mode to make sure all operations will be fully complete.
Is there any chance to recover data that was overwritten?
Read an answer from the world known knowledge base WikiPedia: "Since 1996 ...there's no practical evidence that overwritten data can be recovered. Moreover, there are good reasons to think that it cannot."
Why this program should overwrite all free disk space?
While working "Prevent Restore" takes all free disk space, but when finished free space will be returned to previous condition. Don't worry about that. Its made to make sure that all possible free space was overwritten. The main reason why it should be done this way is that Windows write files to any place on the hard disk - to the end of free space, to the beginning, in the middle... And the result is that deleted files located everywhere! That's why its important to fill out all free disk space.